Elegy For Patrick

This is a rough draft that I am posting up so that some of my friends can see it and access the song file I am posting up.

This Thursday I received the devastating news that my friend Patrick O’Grady had died suddenly. When I was living in Adelaide from the end of 1997 to September 2003, I spent some time playing in Patrick’s band, Beige SA, along with John Sullivan. They were both synthesiser players, while I played guitar and sax. Patrick eventually dropped out for health reasons, and John and I continued to play, renaming ourselves Hazy Space.

The song is a reworking of a song I wrote a few months ago in memory of my dear friend Bek Moore. I’s been a bad year for losing friends! Anyway, I’ve changed the key fom G to E, a full octave and a third lower, and slowed it down from a rock steady 120 bpm to a much more restrained 96 bpm, or to put it in classical terms, from allegro to andante. While I do have words for the original version, I haven’t come up with words for this version yet.

I will edit this to give a fuller account of what Patrick O’Grady meant to me and so many of his other friends in the next few days.

Tony Kneipp
08/10/2016

o'grady

Me and Patrick O’Grady in Beige SA

sullivan

John Sullivan

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

